Biometric Identification

You must provide biometric identification such as fingerprints as part of your Study Permit or Temporary Resident (Visitor) Visa application if you are a citizen of one of the countries below. Biometrics can only be submitted in person at specific offices designated by Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada.

This page last updated on:

  • Afghanistan
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Bangladesh
  • Burma
  • Cambodia
  • Colombia
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Egypt
  • Eritrea
  • Haiti
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Libya
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Palestinian Authority
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Somalia
  • South Sudan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tunisia
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen

There are some exceptions to this requirement. For example, you do not have to provide biometric identification if you are under age 14 or over the age of 80, or if you are a refugee or have made a refugee claim in Canada.

Share This